top of page

#Stringart

Are you ever looking for a quick, easy, inexpensive, yet unique gift idea? Well look no further because this is just the thing you need! Not looking for a gift idea? Follow the how-to to create something new for you.

I made my #stringart featured in this post for a going away gift for my friend. I was pleasntly surprised how quick and easy it was!

All my supplies for this d.i.y. were purchased from Hobby Lobby (except for the nails). I spent around $15 for all supplies needed, you can't beat that!

What You'll Need

- Wood substrate

- Spray paint

- Colored string/thin yarn

- Nails (I used 1-1/4" x 16 wire nails from Lowes)

- Printed images for the design you are creating

(ex. state of Indiana and Purdue logo)

Tools & Other Supplies

- Hammer

- Tape

- Modge Podge

Step 1: Paint

Purdue's colors are black & gold so I chose to do a plain black background. I spray painted my wood "plaque" & allowed it to dry over night.

Step 2: Nails

Once your wood has dried it's time for the main event, nails! Before you can start hammering away you will need to take your printed image/s & tape them down where you want your design to go. For mine, I wanted the Purdue logo to remain when I was done, so I applied that first with modge podge.

Now, you are ready to start hammering. Using your hammer place the nails however far apart you would like & follow the outline of the shape you are creating.

Note: Make sure when you are hammering not to let the nails go through the back of the wood. You also want to make sure your nails stay around the same height.

Once your nailing is complete, you will want to remove the image/s that you taped down leaving you with a nail outline of the shape. For mine, I want the Purdue logo NOT to be covered by the string so I also nailed around the logo. just like I did with Indiana (not pictured here).

Step 3: String

I don't have an image for this step, but it's really really easy! Take your string & wrap it from nail to nail until you have filled your shape to your desired look. There is no right or wrong way to do this. In my case, I connected the nails from Indiana with the nails around the Purdue logo in order to keep the logo visible. If you just have one shape you will connect all nails in your outline. When you reach the end of your stringing & are happy with the look, tie a knot and cut the remaining string.

Voila! Your #stringart is now complete! How easy was that? Just three steps! Want to get started on this craft but don't know what you want to do? Check out the inspiration photos below for some ideas!

#Stringart Inspiration

 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page